SUNN Inaugural Meeting 2016

Urology Nurse Specialists from SAOLTA University healthcare group, Galway Clinic, Bons Secours Galway, St. John’s Hospital Limerick, and the PCCC (Continence Advisors and Healthy Bladder & Bowel Nurses) were represented at the Inaugural Meeting held in Galway on the 30th September 2016. Mr Syed Jaffry and Mr David Bouchier Hayes represented the Urological Consultants, and Ms Mary Pat Fitzgerald represented Urogynaecologists. They enlightened us regarding future Urological developments and innovations. The future development of the dynamic roles of the Urological Nurse specialist, Advance Nurse Practitioner and Continence Nurse Advisors were deliberated.

Exciting ideas emerged from the meeting, including the formation of a directory of Urological Nurse Specialists throughout the Northwest (reference point going forward for all staff to locate community/hospital Urological nurses who can assist in the care of Urological patients). This directory also identifies the clinics and urology specialities that these specialist nurses govern and the referral pathway to access their service. The formation of a Urology website for the Northwest region, currently under design and will incorporate patient and professional sections. The standardisation of PPGs’ and patients leaflets (Community and Hospital) is another ongoing project for the group which will promote best practice and consistency of advice & care to Urological patients. Our first Educational Study Day on Recurrent Complicated Urinary Tract Infections will be held 29th September 2017 in Galway.

The Michael Corcoran Award including Educational Bursary has been established in honour of our esteem colleague, Mr Michael Corcoran (Consultant Urologist UCHG & Bons Secours) who passed away in 2016. He was instrumental in the formation of the Urology Service in the West of Ireland and his presence, great sense of humour and expertise will be sadly missed by all of us who had the great honour of knowing him. Our sincere thanks to his wife Patsy and family for giving their blessing to this prestigious award, which aims to promotes excellence, innovation and practice development in the field of Urology.